The Cambridge Analytica Scandal rocked the social media world in 2016. The company harvested data from millions of Facebook users through personality quizzes. This is the biggest data breach known to date for Facebook. They used this data to create “fake news” to skew the political views of users. There has been evidence shown that these “fake news” ads could have altered the results of the election.
Overall, they use all of your data to personalize and improve your experience using their products, measure analytics, communicate and research social issues.
Who do they share your data with? Well, since 2016 Facebook has made some changes to this part of the policy. They have given more control to the user. They share your data with those users you have set it to be shared with (Close Friends, Friends, Friends with Friends, etc.) and of course, with Facebook partners. Their third-party developers can see when you are using Facebook products, and if you give them permission, they can have access to your profile data. Much like when you sign into an app using Facebook, you are granting them access to your information. But now, if you have been inactive on a third-party app for more than three months, Facebook takes away their access to your information.
When you delete your account, Facebook deletes your data. Any information you posted is erased. They cannot take down any content that you’ve been tagged in, but they do delete any content that is yours. Facebook also deletes any data after they deem it “unnecessary”. This means that after 6 months, any search you conduct in the query will be deleted or any government-issued ID used to verify your account will be deleted after 30 days.